Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Affiliate Faculty

west campus aerial view

The Richard and Loan Hill Department of Biomedical Engineering benefits from the knowledge and perspective of affiliate faculty members, some of whom come from outside UIC and others of whom have primary appointments in other UIC departments and hold a dual or courtesy faculty position with biomedical engineering. Their names, affiliations, research areas, and contact information are all listed below.”

  • To request an affiliate position or to update your information, please contact bme@uic.edu.

Abrams, Charles, PhD

cabrams1@uic.edu
(312) 335-5400
Department/Company: Neurology and Rehabilitation

Ajilore, Olu, PhD

oajilore@uic.edu
(312) 413-4562
Department/Company: Psychiatry

Alapati, Satish, PhD, DDS

salapati@uic.edu
(312) 996-2033
Department/Company: Dentistry Endodontics

Alaraj, Ali, PhD, MD

alaraj@uic.edu
(312) 355-0510
Department/Company: Neurology and Neurosurgery

Alrefai, Waddah A., MD, PhD

walrefai@uic.edu
(312) 569-7429/(312)-569-7248
Department/Company:  Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Andersson, Gunnar, MD, PhD

gunnar_andersson@rush.edu
(312) 942-545
Department/Company: Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest: Biomechanics

Ansari, Anjum, PhD

Ansari@uic.edu
(312) 996-8735
Department/Company: Physics
Research Interest: Dynamics of Nucleic Acids & Protein-DNA Interactions

Art, Jonathan J., PhD

jart@uic.edu
(312) 996-4956
Department/Company: Anatomy and Cell Biology

Azar, Dimitri, MD, MBA

dazar@uic.edu
(312) 996-2020
Department/Company: Ophthalmology & Visual Science

Banerjee, Prashant, PhD

banerjee@uic.edu
(312) 996-5599
Department/Company: Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Bartholomew, Amelia, MD, MPH, FACS

ambart@uic.edu
(312)-355-4065
Department/Company: Surgery
Research Interest: Stem cell based tissue regeneration Focus: Kidney, skin and soft tissue

Benevolenskaya, Elizaveta, PhD

evb@uic.edu
(312) 413-8947
Department/Company: Medicine

Bhaumik, Dulal, PhD

dbhaumik@uic.edu
(312) 413-0348
Department/Company: Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Research Interest: Statistical Inferences, Design of Experiments, Multivariate Analysis

Brady, Scott T., PhD

stbrady@uic.edu
(312) 996-6791
Department/Company: Anatomy and Cell Biology

Cai, Kejia, PhD

kcai@uic.edu
(312)413-0091
Department/Company:  Radiology
Research Interest: Metabolic and Molecular MRI

Cao, Dingcai, PhD

dcao98@uic.edu
(312) 355-3662
Department/Company: Ophthalmology

Cetin Sabri, PhD

scetin@uic.edu
(312) 996-9611
Department/Company:  Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest: Mechatronics, Auomatic Control, Robotics, Automation, CAD/CAM

Chan, Robison, PhD

rvpchan@uic.edu
(312)996-6590
Department/Company: Ophthalmology & Visual Science

Chronis, Konstantinos, PhD

chronis@uic.edu
(312) 355-8012
Department/Company: Medicine

Darbar, Dawood, MBCHB, MD PhD

darbar@uic.edu
(312)413-2948
Department/Company: Medicine and Pharmacology

Dudek, Steven, MD

sdudek@uic.edu
(312)996-8039
Department/Company: Medicine

Eisenberg, Robert, PhD

bob_eisenberg@rush.edu
(312) 942-6498
Department/Company: Physiology & Biophysics

Engelhard, Herbert, MD, PhD

hheneuro@gmail.com
(312) 882-8044
Department/Company: Affiliated Neurosurgery
Research Interest: Neurosurgery, Cancer and Bioengineering

Ennis, William J, DO

wjennis@uic.edu
(312) 355-4300
Department/Company:  Surgery

Erricolo, Danilo, PhD

derric1@uic.edu
(312) 996-5771
Department/Company: Electrical and Computer Engineering

Feinerman, Alan, PhD

Feinerma@uic.edu
(312) 996-2313
Department/Company: ECE
Research Interest: Fiber Optic Technology

Feinstein, Douglas, PhD

dlfeins@uic.edu
(312) 355-1665
Department/Company: Anesthesiology
Research Interest: Neuroscience

Finan, John, PhD

jdfinan@uic.edu
(312) 413-1031
Department/Company: Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Foucher, Kharma C, PhD

kfouch1@uic.edu
(312)355-3948
Department/Company: Kinesiology and Nutrition

Garcia-Martinez, Jesus, MD, PhD

garmar@uic.edu
(312) 355-0260
Department/Company: Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest: Exciataion-contraction Coupling in Skeletal & Cardiac Muscle

Gemeinhart, Richard, PhD

rag@uic.edu
(312) 996-2253
Department/Company: Pharmaceutics/ Pharmacodynamics
Research Interest: Polymer Chemistry for Drug Delivery & Biomaterials

George, Anne, PhD

anneg@uic.edu
(312) 413-0738
Department/Company: Oral Biology
Research Interest: Biomineralization, Noncollagenous Protein, Dentin, Gene Cloning

Gill, Ravinder K, PhD

rgill@uic.edu
(312) 569-7849
Department/Company: Medicine

Golman, Jennifer, MD

jennifer.g.goldman@gmail.com/jgg@uic.edu
Department/Company: Neurology

Grabiner, Mark, PhD

grabiner@uic.edu
(312) 996-2757
Department/Company: Kinesiology
Research Interest: Aging, Musculoskeletal Biomechanics

Gupta, Bhaskar Das, PhD

bdasgup@uic.edu
(312) 355-1319
Department/Company: Computer Science
Research Interest: Bioinformatics, Neural Networks, Computation Biology

Hanley, Luke, PhD

Lhanley@uic.edu
(312) 996-0945
Department/Company: Chemistry
Research Interest: Chemical Mods & Analysis of Biological Surfaces

Hatami-Marbini, Hamed, PhD

Hatami@uic.edu
(312) 413-2126
Department/Company: Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

He, Bin, PhD

tshuo@uic.edu
(630) 996-4986
Department/Company: Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital, Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Research Interest: Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehab

Hedman, Glenn, MS

Ghedman@uic.edu
(312) 413-1555
Department/Company: Disability and Human Development
Research Interest: Rehabilitation Engineering

Huang, Felix, MD

fhuang4@uic.edu/felix.charles.huang@gmail.com
(773)296-5878
Department/Company: Emergency Medicine/ Sensory Motor Performance Program

Hulbert, Alicia, MD

ahulbert@uic.edu
(312) 413-8878
Department/Company: Surgery, College of Medicine

Jalilian, Elmira, PhD

jalilian@uic.edu
(734) 800-9041
Department/Company: Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research interest:  Stem cells and Corneal neuro-regeneration, Tissue engineering, Stem cell tracking

Jeffery, Constance, PhD

cjeffery@uic.edu
(312) 996-3168
Department/Company: Biological Sciences
Research Interest: Protein Structure & Function

Jeong, Heejin, PhD

heejinj@uic.edu
Department/Company: Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Research Interest: Mixed Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Human Behavior Modeling

Jursich, Greg, PhD

jursich@uic.edu
(312) 996-0901
Department/Company: Chemistry
Research Interest: Molecular Dynamics, Spectroscopy, Thin Film Deposition, Nanomaterial

Kenney, Linda, PhD

kenneyl@uic.edu
Department/Company: Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine

Kenyon, Robert, PhD

kenyon@uic.edu
(312) 996-3002
Department/Company: Computer Science
Research Interest: Human Computer Interaction

Khalili-Araghi, Fatemeh, PhD

akhalili@uic.edu
(312) 355-3322
Department/Company: Physics

Kim, Dong-Hyun, PhD

dhkim@northwestern.edu
(312) 926-3279
Department/Company: Northwestern University
Research Interest: Biomaterials for Image Guided Medicine

Koh, Timothy, PhD

Tjkoh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1617
Department/Company: Kinesiology
Research Interest: Mechanical Load, Muscle Injury, Adaptation

Kotecha, Prakash, PhD

kotecha@uic.edu
(312) 413-1292
Department/Company: Vishwamitra Research Institute
Research Interest: Sustainability, Carbon capture and Sequestration, Process Systems Engineering, Artificial Intelligence

Ladu, Mary Jo, PhD

mladu@uic.edu
(312) 355-4795
Department/Company: Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest: Abnormalities in Processing of Amyloid Presursor Protein in Alzheimer’s

Larson, Andrew, PhD

a-larson@northwestern.edu
Department/Company: NWU Radiology

Lazarov, Orly, PhD

olazarov@uic.edu
(312)355-0548
Department/Company: Anatomy and Cell Biology

Lee, Adrian, PhD

ajlee4@uic.edu
(312) 355-6102
Department/Company: Research Engineer

Leiderman, Yannek Isaac, MD, PhD

yannek@uic.edu
(312) 413-8000
Department/Company: UIC Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Research Interests: Artificial intelligence applications in microsurgery; Decoding the acquisition of surgical skill via deep learning, tool/tissue tracking, and surgeon-gaze tracking; Surgical guidance technology development

Levitan, Irena, PhD

levitan@uic.edu
(312) 996-8039
Department/Company: Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep Medicine
Research Interest: Cardiovascular Research

Li, Qingbo, PhD

gkli@uic.edu
(312) 413-9301
Department/Company: Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Research Interest: Anaerobic Metabolism, Bacteriostatic Resistance

Mahmud, Nadim, PhD

nadim@uic.edu
(312) 996-2242
Department/Company: Medicine

Malik, Asrar, PhD

abmalik@uic.edu
(312) 996-7635
Department/Company: Pharmacology

McAnany, J. Jason, PhD

jmcana1@uic.edu
(312) 355-3632
Department/Company: Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research Interest: Visual Dysfunction, Electrophysiology, Psychophysics, Retinal Imaging

Minshall, Richard, PhD

rminsh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1655
Department/Company: Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology, and Pharmacology

Mogul, David, PhD

mogul@iit.edu
(312) 567-3873
Department/Company: IIT Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest: Electrophysiology & Electrical Dynamics of the Brain

Murer, Sasha Erin, MD

sashademos@yahoo.com
Department/Company: Anesthesia

Naba, Alexandra, PhD

anaba@uic.edu
(312) 355-5417
Department/Company: Department of Physiology and Biophysics, UIC College of Medicine
Research Interest: Extracellular Matrix, Proteomics, Bioinformatics. Tissue Engineering

Natarajan, Viswanathan, PhD

visnatar@uic.edu
(312) 355-5896
Department/Company: Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Naveed, Hammad, PhD

Department/Company: Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago

Ng, Jason, MD, PhD

jsnng@uic.edu/jsnng@northwestern.edu
Department/Company: Medicine

Niederberger, Craig, MD

craign@uic.edu
(312) 996-2779
Department/Company: Urology
Research Interest: Biomechanics & Computational Modeling

Ong, Sang Ging, PhD

(312) 996-7665
sangging@uic.edu
Department/Company: Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Onyuksel, Hayat, PhD

Hayat@uic.edu
(312) 996-2097
Department/Company: Pharmaceutics
Research Interest: Controlled Drug Delivery

Orias, Alejandro Espinoza, PhD

alejandro_espinoza@rush.edu
Department/Company: Rush, Orthopedic Surgery

Pai, Clive, PhD

cpai@uic.edu
(312) 996-1507
Department/Company: Physical Therapy
Research Interest: Neuromuscular Mechnisms, Motion Analysis

Pajcini, Kostandin, PhD

kvp@uic.edu
(312)355-4439
Department/Company: Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Patwardhan, Avinash G., PhD

apatwar@lumc.edu
(630) 430-7612
Department/Company: Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital, Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Research Interest: Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehab

Penn, Richard, M.D

rpenn@uic.edu
(312) 355-4972
Department/Company: Biomedical Engineering

Perkins, David, PhD

perkinsd@uic.edu
(312) 413-3382
Department/Company: Medicine

Petukhov, Pavel, PhD

pap4@uic.edu
(312) 996-4262
Department/Company: Medicinal Chemistry & Pharmacognosy

Pfanner, Peter

pfanner@uic.edu
312-355-3348
Department/Company: Innovation Center
Research Interest: User Centered Medical Device Design

Pietrzak, William, PhD

bill.pietrzak@biometmail.com
(219) 267-6639
Department/Company: Biomet, Inc
Research Interest: Orthopedic Biomaterials

Pourzal, Robin, PhD

Robin_Pourzal@rush.edu
(312) 942-7270
Department/Company: Orthopedic Surgery

Rajh, Tijana, PhD

rajh@anl.gov
Department/Company: Molecular Sciences
Research Interest: Nanoscience, Energy Conversion, NanoBio Interface

Rehman, Jalees, MD

jalees@uic.edu
(312) 996-5552
Department/Company: Biochemistry
Research Interest: Vascular Biology, Lung Biology & Pathophysiology

Reiter, Rolf Otto, PhD

srreite5@uic.edu
Department/Company: Radiology

Renner, Susan, PhD

susan.renner@va.gov
Department/Company: Hines VA Hospital
Research Interest: Biomechanics

Russell, Brenda, PhD

Russell@uic.edu
(312) 413-0407
Department/Company: Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest: Cardiovascular Biophysics

Rymer, William Zev, MD, PhD

zrymer@ric.org/w-rymer@northwestern.edu
Department/Company: Physiology

Salmon, Patrick, PharmD, PhD

patrick.salmon@unige.ch
Department/Company: Neurosciences, Geneva School of Medicine (CMU)
Research Interest: Genetic Engineering of Cells using Lentivectors

Santambrogio, Marco, PhD

msanta4@uic.edu
Department/Company: Computer Science

Sawers, Andrew, PhD

asawers@uic.edu
Department/Company: Kinesiology and Nutrition

Schonfeld, Dan, PhD

dans@uic.edu
(312) 996-5847
Department/Company: ECE
Research Interest: Medical Imaging

Schwartz, Joel, DMD, DMSc

joschwar@uic.edu
(312) 355-4311
Department/Company: Oral Medicine
Research Interest: Pathology

Scott, Michael, PhD

mjscott@uic.edu
(312) 996-4354
Department/Company: Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest: Design Theory, CAD

Sena, Kotaro, DDS, PhD

kotaro_sena@rush.edu
(312) 942-5548
Department/Company: Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology

Shabana, Ahmed, PhD

shabana@uic.edu
(312) 996-3600
Department/Company: Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest: Dynamic Systems

Shippy, Scott, PhD

Sshippy@uic.edu
(312) 355-2426
Department/Company: Chemistry
Research Interest: Chemical Signaling in the Mammalian Brain

Sharma, Sadhana, PhD

sadhana@uic.edu
Department/Company: Ohio State University

Shukla, Deepak, PhD

dshukla@uic.edu
(312)355-0908
Department/Company: Ophthalmology

Spagnoli, Anna, MD

(312) 942-3034
Department/Company: Pediatrics

Spille, Jan Hendrik

jhspille@uic.edu
(312)996-4588
Department/Company: Physics

Stebbins, Glenn, PhD

gstebbin@rush.edu
(312) 563-3854
Department/Company: Rush Neurological Sciences
Research Interest: Effects of Aging on Cognitive Function in Humans

Sukotjo, Cortino, DDS, PhD

csukotjo@uic.edu
Department/Company: Restorative Dentistry

Sumner, Rick, PhD

rick_sumner@rush.edu
(312) 942-5501
Department/Company: Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest: Bone Regeneration & Implant Fixation

Szlyk, Janet, PhD

janeszly@uic.edu
(312) 996-1466
Department/Company: Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Research Interest: Vision Loss in Retinal Diseases

Tek, Peter, MS, DO

peter.tek@mwumail.midwestern.edu
Department/Company: MWU Urology
Research Interest: Medical Device Design

Towles, Joseph, PhD

towles@northwestern.edu
(312) 238-1235
Department/Company: Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Research Interest: Hand biomechanics & control after neurologic injury, simulation of treatment interventions

Tresch, Matthew, PhD

m-tresch@northwestern.edu
Department/Company: NWU Physiology
Research Interest: Biomechanics & Rehabilitation

Ucker, David, PhD

duck@uic.edu
(312) 413-1102
Department/Company: Microbiology & Immunology

Virdi, Amarjit, PhD

avirdi@rush.edu
(312) 942-5143
Department/Company: Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest: Biomechanics, Bone Regeneration

Wang, Xiaowei, PhD

xwang317@uic.edu
(312)413-2446
Department/Company: Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Weinberg, Guy, MD

guyw@uic.edu
(312) 996-4020
Department/Company: Medicine

Westbrook, Carol, MD, PhD

cwcw@uic.edu
Department/Company: Medicine

Wimmer, Markus, PhD

markus_a_wimmer@rush.edu
Department/Company: Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest: Damage and Wearing of Implants

Xu, Jie, PhD

jiexu@uic.edu
(312)355-1788
Department/Company: Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Research Interest: Microfluidics, Lab-on-a-chip and Biosensors Micro/Nano transport phenomena

Yamada, Tohru, PhD

tohru@uic.edu
(312) 413-1156
Department/Company: Surgery

Yang, Shaolin, PhD

shaolin@uic.edu
(312)-413-3818
Department/Company: Psychiatry, Radiology
Research Interest: MRI, MRS, Psychiatric Disorder, Type 2 Diabetes, Drug Abuse, HIV, and Body/Organ Diseases

Yi, Darvin, PhD

dyi9@uic.edu
Department/Company: Ophthalmology

Zheng, Qiping, PhD

qiping_zheng@rush.edu
Department/Company: Anatomy and Cell Biology

Zhou, X. Joe, PhD

xjzhou@uic.edu
(312) 413-3979
Department/Company: MR Research Center
Research Interest: MRI Physics & Tumor Applications

Zhou, Xiaofeng (Charles), PhD, MS

xfzhou@uic.edu
Department/Company: Periodontics

Zuber, Bert, PhD

blzuber@uic.edu
Department/Company: Microbiology and Immunology