Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Affiliate Faculty

Aerial view of UIC's West Campus

To request an affiliate position or to update your information, please contact bme@uic.edu.

Affiliate Faculty

Aheda Saber, PhD

ahedasabar@yahoo.com
Department/Company : Governors State University
Research Interest : …

Ahmed Shabana, PhD

shabana@uic.edu
(312) 996-3600
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Dynamic Systems

Aiming Lu, PhD

aiminglu@uic.edu
(312) 413-3964
Department/Company : MR Research Center
Research Interest : MR Physics

Alan Boghosian, DDS

Boghosian@nwu.edu
(312) 266-6316
Department/Company : Northwestern University Dental School
Research Interest : Physical Properties of Polymer Based Dental Materials

Alan Feinerman, PhD

Feinerma@uic.edu
(312) 996-2313
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Fiber Optic Technology

Alejandro Espinoza Orias, PhD

alejandro_espinoza@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush, Orthopedic Surgery
Research Interest : …

Alexander Aruin, PhD

Aaruin@uic.edu
(312) 355-0902
Department/Company : Physical Therapy
Research Interest : Motor Disorders & Rehab, Biomechanics

Alexandra Naba, PhD

anaba@uic.edu
(312) 355-5417
Department/Company : Department of Physiology and Biophysics, UIC College of Medicine
Research Interest : Extracellular Matrix, Proteomics, Bioinformatics. Tissue Engineering

Amarjit Virdi, PhD

avirdi@rush.edu
(312) 942-5143
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Biomechanics, Bone Regeneration

Amelia Bartholomew, MD, MPH, FACS

ambart@uic.edu
(312)-355-4065
Department/Company : Surgery
Research Interest : Stem cell based tissue regeneration Focus: Kidney, skin and soft tissue

Anakarina Bedran-Russo, PhD

bedran@uic.edu
Department/Company : Dentistry
Research Interest : Biomaterials, Dental Materials, Hard Tissues, Interfaces

Andrew Larson, PhD

a-larson@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : NWU Radiology
Research Interest : …

Anil Gulati, PhD

gulati@uic.edu
Department/Company : Midwestern University Pharmacy
Research Interest : Regional & Systemic Hemodynamics & Drug Delivery

Anjum Ansari, PhD

Ansari@uic.edu
(312) 996-8735
Department/Company : Physics
Research Interest : Dynamics of Nucleic Acids & Protein-DNA Interactions

Anne George, PhD

anneg@uic.edu
(312) 413-0738
Department/Company : Oral Biology
Research Interest : Biomineralization, Noncollagenous Protein, Dentin, Gene Cloning

Anton J. Hopfinger, PhD

Hopfingr@uic.edu
(312) 996-4816
Department/Company : Medicinal Chemistry
Research Interest : Computer Assisted Molecular Design

Asrar Malik, PhD

abmalik@uic.edu
(312) 996-7635
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

Avinash G. Patwardhan, PhD

apatwar@lumc.edu
(630) 430-7612
Department/Company : Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital, Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Research Interest : Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehab

Ben Gerber, MD

BGerber@uic.edu
(312) 996-8872
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : Computer Applications in Medicine, Medical Informatics

Bert Zuber, PhD

blzuber@uic.edu
Department/Company : Professor Emeritus
Research Interest : …

Bhaskar Das Gupta, PhD

bdasgup@uic.edu
(312) 355-1319
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : Bioinformatics, Neural Networks, Computation Biology

Boaz Avitall, MD, PhD

Bavitall@uic.edu
(312) 996-9090
Department/Company : Cardiac Electrophysiology
Research Interest : Electrophysiology

Brenda Russell, PhD

Russell@uic.edu
(312) 413-0407
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest : Cardiovascular Biophysics

Brenda Sposato, MEBME, ATP

bsposato@uic.edu
(312) 413-7785
Department/Company : Assistive Technology
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering

Brian Roman, PhD

broman@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-6906
Department/Company : UC Radiology
Research Interest : …

Carmen DiGiovine, PhD

cpdigiov@uic.edu
(630)-752-9670
Department/Company : 6 Degrees of Freedom, LLC
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering, Assistive Technology

Charles Rhodes, PhD

Rhodes@uic.edu
(312) 996-4868
Department/Company : Physics
Research Interest : X-Ray Microimaging and Bioinformatics

Christopher Fall, PhD

fall@uic.edu
Department/Company : Georgetown Computer Science
Research Interest : Neural, Cell & Tissue Engineering, Systems Biology

Clive Pai, PhD

cpai@uic.edu
(312) 996-1507
Department/Company : Physical Therapy
Research Interest : Neuromuscular Mechnisms, Motion Analysis

Constance Jeffery, PhD

cjeffery@uic.edu
(312) 996-3168
Department/Company : Biological Sciences
Research Interest : Protein Structure & Function

Craig Niederberger, MD

craign@uic.edu
(312) 996-2779
Department/Company : Urology
Research Interest : Biomechanics & Computational Modeling

Daniel Graupe, PhD

Graupe@uic.edu
(312) 996-3085
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Medical Signal Image Processing

Daniel Hier, MD

dhier@uic.edu
(312) 996-1757
Department/Company : Neurology
Research Interest : Neural Networks, Multi-Imaging Modalities

Dan Pavel, PhD

danpavel@uic.edu
(312) 996-3966
Department/Company : Radiology/ Nuclear Medicine
Research Interest : Medical Imaging

Dan Schonfeld, PhD

dans@uic.edu
(312) 996-5847
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Medical Imaging

David Carley, PhD

DWCarley@uic.edu
(312) 996-3827
Department/Company :  Medicine
Research Interest : Respiratory & Sleep Neurobiology, Integrative Systems Physiology

David Mogul, PhD

mogul@iit.edu
(312) 567-3873
Department/Company : IIT Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : Electrophysiology & Electrical Dynamics of the Brain

David Ucker, PhD

duck@uic.edu
(312) 413-1102
Department/Company : Microbiology & Immunology
Research Interest : …

Dong-Hyun Kim, PhD

dhkim@northwestern.edu
(312) 926-3279
Department/Company : Northwestern University
Research Interest : Biomaterials for Image Guided Medicine

Douglas Feinstein, PhD

dlfeins@uic.edu
(312) 355-1665
Department/Company : Anesthesiology
Research Interest : Neuroscience

Dulal Bhaumik, PhD

dbhaumik@uic.edu
(312) 413-0348
Department/Company : Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Research Interest : Statistical Inferences, Design of Experiments, Multivariate Analysis

Elisa Budyn, PhD

ebudyn@uic.edu
(312) 996-9631
Department/Company :  Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Development, Disabilities, Assistive Technologies

Elmira Jalilian, PhD

jalilian@uic.edu
(734) 800-9041
Department/Company: Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research interest:  Stem cells and Corneal neuroregeneration, Tissue engineering, Stem cell tracking

Fei Li, PhD

fei@uic.edu
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

G. Ali Mansoori, PhD

mansoori@uic.edu
Department/Company: Chemical engineering, UIC
Research interests: Thermodynamics, nanotechnology and nanobiostructures, diagnostics, phase transitions, density functional theory, molecular dynamics simulations, modern statistical mechanics

Glenn Hedman, MS

Ghedman@uic.edu
(312) 413-1555
Department/Company : Disability and Human Development
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering

Glenn Stebbins, PhD

gstebbin@rush.edu
(312) 563-3854
Department/Company : Rush Neurological Sciences
Research Interest : Effects of Aging on Cognitive Function in Humans

Greg Jursich, PhD

jursich@uic.edu
(312) 996-0901
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Molecular Dynamics, Spectroscopy, Thin Film Deposition, Nanomaterial

Gunnar Andersson, MD, PhD

gunnar_andersson@rush.edu
(312) 942-545
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Hammad Naveed, PhD

Department/Company : Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Research Interest : …

Hayat Onyuksel, PhD

Hayat@uic.edu
(312) 996-2097
Department/Company : Pharmaceutics
Research Interest : Controlled Drug Delivery

Hee-Jeong Sampen, PhD

hee-jeong_sampen@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush Biochemistry
Research Interest : …

Heejin Jeong, PhD

heejinj@uic.edu
Department/Company : Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Mixed Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Human Behavior Modeling

Herbert Engelhard, MD, PhD

hheneuro@gmail.com
(312) 882-8044
Department/Company : Affiliated Neurosurgery
Research Interest : Neurosurgery, Cancer and Bioengineering

Irena Levitan, PhD

levitan@uic.edu
(312) 996-8039
Department/Company : Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep Medicine
Research Interest : Cardiovascular Research

Jalees Rehman, MD

jalees@uic.edu
(312) 996-5552
Department/Company : Medicine and Pharmacology
Research Interest : Vascular Biology, Lung Biology & Pathophysiology

Jamie Williams, PhD

jwilliams@robsonforensic.com
Department/Company : Robson Forensic
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Janet Szlyk, PhD

janeszly@uic.edu
(312) 996-1466
Department/Company : Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Research Interest : Vision Loss in Retinal Diseases

Jesus Garcia-Martinez, MD, PhD

garmar@uic.edu
(312) 355-0260
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest : Exciataion-contraction Coupling in Skeletal & Cardiac Muscle

(continued)

Jianxun Li, PhD

jxli@uic.edu
(312) 996-7732
Department/Company : Oral Biology
Research Interest : Cell Adhesion, Proliferation & Differentiation

J. Jason McAnany, PhD

jmcana1@uic.edu
(312) 355-3632
Department/Company : Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research Interest : Visual Dysfunction, Electrophysiology, Psychophysics, Retinal Imaging

Joel Schwartz, DMD, DMSc

joshwar@uic.edu
(312) 355-4311
Department/Company : Oral Medicine
Research Interest : Pathology

John Daugirdas, PhD

Jtdaugir@uic.edu
(312) 666-6500
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : Vascular Physiology

Joseph Towles, PhD

towles@northwestern.edu
(312) 238-1235
Department/Company : Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Research Interest : Hand biomechanics & control after neurologic injury, simulation of treatment interventions

Juan Salazer, PhD

jsalazar@ksu.edu
(785) 317-4348
Department/Company : KSU Chemical Engineering
Research Interest : …

Kejia Cai, PhD

kcai@uic.edu
(312)413-0091
Department/Company :  Radiology
Research Interest : Metabolic and Molecular MRI

Kenneth Brezinsky, PhD

kenbrez@uic.edu
(312) 996-9430
Department/Company :  Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : …

Kim Reisinger, PhD

kreisinger@cirnetwork.org
(312) 355-1557
Department/Company : Ctr. for International Rehabilitation
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Kishore Wary, PhD

kkwary@uic.edu
(312) 413-9582
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : Biology of EPCs

Kotaro Sena, DDS, PhD

kotaro_sena@rush.edu
(312) 942-5548
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Luke Hanley, PhD

Lhanley@uic.edu
(312) 996-0945
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Chemical Mods & Analysis of Biological Surfaces

Marc Ovadia, MD

movadia@uic.edu
Department/Company : UC Pediatrics
Research Interest : Electrophysiology and Pacing

Mark Grabiner, PhD

grabiner@uic.edu
(312) 996-2757
Department/Company : Kinesiology
Research Interest : Aging, Musculoskeletal Biomechanics

Markus Wimmer, PhD

markus_a_wimmer@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : Damage and Wearing of Implants

Maryellen L. Giger, PhD

m-giger@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-6778
Department/Company : U Chicago Radiology
Research Interest : Radiology

Mary Jo Ladu, PhD

mladu@uic.edu
(312) 355-4795
Department/Company : Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Abnormalities in Processing of Amyloid Presursor Protein in Alzheimer’s

Matthew Tresch, PhD

m-tresch@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : NWU Physiology
Research Interest : Biomechanics & Rehabilitation

Michael Johnson, PhD

mjohnson@uic.edu
(312) 996-9114
Department/Company : Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Research Interest : Computer Aided Therapeutic Design & Structural Bioinfomatics

Michael Scott, PhD

mjscott@uic.edu
(312) 996-4354
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Design Theory, CAD

Nadim Hallab, PhD

nhallab@rush.edu
(312) 942-5000 x29720
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : In Vivo Metallic Implant Degradation

Nadim Mahmud, PhD

nadim@uic.edu
(312) 996-2242
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : …

Natalia Maltsev, MD, PhD

maltsev@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4960
Department/Company : Human genetics Department, University of Chicago
Research Interest : Computational Biology, Systems Biology, Translational Medicine

Ogan Gurel, PhD

ogan@ogangurel.com
Department/Company : Aesis Research Group
Research Interest : …

Oliver Graudejus, PhD

ogaudej@princeton.edu
Department/Company : Princeton Physiology
Research Interest : …

Patrick Rousche, PhD

info@ensisconsulting.com
Department/Company : Ensis Scientific Consulting
Research Interest : neural engineering biomedical device design

Patrick Salmon, PharmD, PhD

patrick.salmon@unige.ch
Department/Company : Neurosciences, Geneva School of Medicine (CMU)
Research Interest : Genetic Engineering of Cells using Lentivectors

Pavel Petukhov, PhD

pap4@uic.edu
(312) 996-4262
Department/Company : Medicinal Chemistry & Pharmacognosy
Research Interest : …

Peter Pfanner

pfanner@uic.edu
312-355-3348
Department/Company: Innovation Center
Research Interest: User Centered Medical Device Design

Peter Tek, MS, DO

peter.tek@mwumail.midwestern.edu
Department/Company : MWU Urology
Research Interest : Medical Device Design

Phillip Marucha, PhD

marucha@uic.edu
Department/Company : Periodontics
Research Interest : …

Philip Patston, PhD

patston@uic.edu
(312) 996-8554
Department/Company : Oral Medicine
Research Interest : Mechanism, Regulation, Function, and Structure of the Serpin Family of Proteins

Pieter de Tombe, PhD

pdetombe@lumc.edu
(708) 216-1018
Department/Company : Loyola Physiology
Research Interest : …

Pirooz Mohazzabi, PhD

pirooz.mohazzabi@uwp.edu
Department/Company : UW Parkside
Research Interest : Physics

Prakash Kotecha, PhD

kotecha@uic.edu
(312) 413-1292
Department/Company : Vishwamitra Research Institute
Research Interest : Sustainability, Carbon capture and Sequestration, Process Systems Engineering, Artificial Intelligence

Qingbo Li, PhD

gkli@uic.edu
(312) 413-9301
Department/Company : Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Research Interest : Anaerobic Metabolism, Bacteriostatic Resistance

Richard Gemeinhart, PhD

rag@uic.edu
(312) 996-2253
Department/Company : Pharmaceutics/ Pharmacodynamics
Research Interest : Polymer Chemistry for Drug Delivery & Biomaterials

Richard Minshall, PhD

rminsh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1655
Department/Company : Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology, and Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

Richard Penn, M.D

rpenn@uic.edu
(312) 355-4972
Department/Company : Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : …

Rick Sumner, PhD

rick_sumner@rush.edu
(312) 942-5501
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Bone Regeneration & Implant Fixation

Robert Anderson, PhD

robertan@rush.edu
(312) 942-5451
Department/Company : Rush OB/GYN
Research Interest : …

Robert Kenyon, PhD

kenyon@uic.edu
(312) 996-3002
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : Human Computer Interaction

Sabri Cetinkunt, PhD

scetin@uic.edu
(312) 996-9611
Department/Company :  Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Mechatronics, Auomatic Control, Robotics, Automation, CAD/CAM

Sadhana Sharma, PhD

sadhana@uic.edu
Department/Company : Ohio State University
Research Interest : …

Scott Shippy, PhD

Sshippy@uic.edu
(312) 355-2426
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Chemical Signaling in the Mammalian Brain

Scott T. Brady, PhD

stbrady@uic.edu
(312) 996-6791
Department/Company : Anatomy and Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Shaolin Yang, PhD

shaolin@uic.edu
(312)-413-3818
Department/Company : Psychiatry, Radiology
Research Interest : MRI, MRS, Psychiatric Disorder, Type 2 Diabetes, Drug Abuse, HIV, and Body/Organ Diseases

S. Jay Olshansky, PhD

sjayo@uic.edu
(312) 996-8860
Department/Company : Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Research Interest : Estimates of Upper Limits to Human Longevity

Stanley Sclove, PhD

slsclove@uic.edu
(312) 996-2681
Department/Company : Information & Decision Sciences
Research Interest : Time Series Segmentation

Stephen W. Porges, PhD

sporges@uic.edu
(312) 355-1557
Department/Company : Psychiatry
Research Interest : Brain-Body Center

Steven Olson, PhD

Steven.Olson@uic.edu
(312) 996-1043
Department/Company : Oral Diseases
Research Interest : Engineering of Novel Anticoagulant, Antiapoptotic & Antifibrinolytic Proteins

Susan Renner, PhD

susan.renner@va.gov
Department/Company : Hines VA Hospital
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Timothy Koh, PhD

Tjkoh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1617
Department/Company : Kinesiology
Research Interest : Mechanical Load, Muscle Injury, Adaptation

Urmila Diwekar, PhD

urmila@uic.edu
(312) 413-1649
Department/Company : Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : Stochastic Modeling, Optimization Uncertainty

William Beck, PhD

wtbeck@uic.edu
(312) 996-0888
Department/Company : Biopharmaceutical Sciences
Research Interest : …

William Pietrzak, PhD

bill.pietrzak@biometmail.com
(219) 267-6639
Department/Company : Biomet, Inc
Research Interest : Orthopedic Biomaterials

X. Joe Zhou, PhD

xjzhou@uic.edu
(312) 413-3979
Department/Company : MR Research Center
Research Interest : MRI Physics & Tumor Applications

Zhuming Ai, PhD

zai@uic.edu
(312) 996-7337
Department/Company : Biomedical Health Information
Research Interest : Virtual Reality, Visualization, and Computer Graphics