Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Affiliate Faculty

west campus aerial view

The Richard and Loan Hill Department of Biomedical Engineering benefits from the knowledge and perspective of affiliate faculty members, some of whom come from outside UIC and others of whom have primary appointments in other UIC departments and hold a dual or courtesy faculty position with biomedical engineering. Their names, affiliations, research areas, and contact information are all listed below.”

  • To request an affiliate position or to update your information, please contact bme@uic.edu.

Affiliate Faculty

 

Adrian Lee, PhD

ajlee4@uic.edu
(312) 355-6102
Department/Company: Research Engineer

Ali Alaraj, PhD, MD

alaraj@uic.edu
(312) 355-0510
Department/Company: Neurology and Neurosurgery

Ahmed Shabana, PhD

shabana@uic.edu
(312) 996-3600
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Dynamic Systems

Alan Feinerman, PhD

Feinerma@uic.edu
(312) 996-2313
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Fiber Optic Technology

Alejandro Espinoza Orias, PhD

alejandro_espinoza@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush, Orthopedic Surgery
Research Interest : …

Alexandra Naba, PhD

anaba@uic.edu
(312) 355-5417
Department/Company : Department of Physiology and Biophysics, UIC College of Medicine
Research Interest : Extracellular Matrix, Proteomics, Bioinformatics. Tissue Engineering

Alicia Hulbert, MD

ahulbert@uic.edu
(312) 413-8878
Department/Company : Surgery, College of Medicine

Amarjit Virdi, PhD

avirdi@rush.edu
(312) 942-5143
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Biomechanics, Bone Regeneration

Amelia Bartholomew, MD, MPH, FACS

ambart@uic.edu
(312)-355-4065
Department/Company : Surgery
Research Interest : Stem cell based tissue regeneration Focus: Kidney, skin and soft tissue

Anakarina Bedran-Russo, PhD

bedran@uic.edu
Department/Company : Dentistry
Research Interest : Biomaterials, Dental Materials, Hard Tissues, Interfaces

Andrew Larson, PhD

a-larson@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : NWU Radiology

Andrew Sawers, PhD

asawers@uic.edu
Department/Company : Kinesiology and Nutrition

Anjum Ansari, PhD

Ansari@uic.edu
(312) 996-8735
Department/Company : Physics
Research Interest : Dynamics of Nucleic Acids & Protein-DNA Interactions

Anna Spagnoli, MD

(312) 942-3034
Department/Company : Pediatrics

Anne George, PhD

anneg@uic.edu
(312) 413-0738
Department/Company : Oral Biology
Research Interest : Biomineralization, Noncollagenous Protein, Dentin, Gene Cloning

Asrar Malik, PhD

abmalik@uic.edu
(312) 996-7635
Department/Company : Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

Avinash G. Patwardhan, PhD

apatwar@lumc.edu
(630) 430-7612
Department/Company : Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital, Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Research Interest : Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehab

Bin He, PhD

tshuo@uic.edu
(630) 996-4986
Department/Company : Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital, Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Research Interest : Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehab

Bert Zuber, PhD

blzuber@uic.edu
Department/Company : Microbiology and Immunology

Bhaskar Das Gupta, PhD

bdasgup@uic.edu
(312) 355-1319
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : Bioinformatics, Neural Networks, Computation Biology

Brenda Russell, PhD

Russell@uic.edu
(312) 413-0407
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest : Cardiovascular Biophysics

Carol Westbrook,MD, PhD

cwcw@uic.edu
Department/Company : Medicine

Charles Abrams, PhD

cabrams1@uic.edu
(312) 335-5400
Department/Company: Neurology and Rehabilitation

Clive Pai, PhD

cpai@uic.edu
(312) 996-1507
Department/Company : Physical Therapy
Research Interest : Neuromuscular Mechnisms, Motion Analysis

Constance Jeffery, PhD

cjeffery@uic.edu
(312) 996-3168
Department/Company : Biological Sciences
Research Interest : Protein Structure & Function

Cortino Sukotjo, DDS, PhD

csukotjo@uic.edu
Department/Company : Restorative Dentistry

Craig Niederberger, MD

craign@uic.edu
(312) 996-2779
Department/Company : Urology
Research Interest : Biomechanics & Computational Modeling

Dan Schonfeld, PhD

dans@uic.edu
(312) 996-5847
Department/Company : ECE
Research Interest : Medical Imaging

Danilo Erricolo, PhD

derric1@uic.edu
(312) 996-5771
Department/Company : Electrical and Computer Engineering

Darvin Yi, PhD

dyi9@uic.edu
Department/Company : Ophthalmology

David Mogul, PhD

mogul@iit.edu
(312) 567-3873
Department/Company : IIT Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : Electrophysiology & Electrical Dynamics of the Brain

David Perkins, PhD

perkinsd@uic.edu
(312) 413-3382
Department/Company : Medicine

David Ucker, PhD

duck@uic.edu
(312) 413-1102
Department/Company : Microbiology & Immunology
Research Interest : …

Dawood Darbar, MBCHB, MD PhD

darbar@uic.edu
(312)413-2948
Department/Company : Medicine and Pharmacology

Deepak Shukla, PhD

dshukla@uic.edu
(312)355-0908
Department/Company : Ophthalmology

Dimitri Azar, MD, MBA

dazar@uic.edu
(312) 996-2020
Department/Company : Ophthalmology & Visual Science

Dingcai Cao, PhD

dcao98@uic.edu
(312) 355-3662
Department/Company : Ophthalmology

Dong-Hyun Kim, PhD

dhkim@northwestern.edu
(312) 926-3279
Department/Company : Northwestern University
Research Interest : Biomaterials for Image Guided Medicine

Douglas Feinstein, PhD

dlfeins@uic.edu
(312) 355-1665
Department/Company : Anesthesiology
Research Interest : Neuroscience

Dulal Bhaumik, PhD

dbhaumik@uic.edu
(312) 413-0348
Department/Company : Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Research Interest : Statistical Inferences, Design of Experiments, Multivariate Analysis

Elizaveta Benevolenskaya, PhD

evb@uic.edu
(312) 413-8947
Department/Company : Medicine

Elmira Jalilian, PhD

jalilian@uic.edu
(734) 800-9041
Department/Company: Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research interest:  Stem cells and Corneal neuro-regeneration, Tissue engineering, Stem cell tracking

Fatemeh Khalili-Araghi, PhD

akhalili@uic.edu
(312) 355-3322
Department/Company: Physics

Felix Huang, MD

fhuang4@uic.edu/felix.charles.huang@gmail.com
(773)296-5878
Department/Company: Emergency Medicine/ Sensory Motor Performance Program

G. Ali Mansoori, PhD

mansoori@uic.edu
Department/Company: Chemical engineering, UIC
Research interests: Thermodynamics, nanotechnology and nanobiostructures, diagnostics, phase transitions, density functional theory, molecular dynamics simulations, modern statistical mechanics

Glenn Hedman, MS

Ghedman@uic.edu
(312) 413-1555
Department/Company : Disability and Human Development
Research Interest : Rehabilitation Engineering

Glenn Stebbins, PhD

gstebbin@rush.edu
(312) 563-3854
Department/Company : Rush Neurological Sciences
Research Interest : Effects of Aging on Cognitive Function in Humans

Greg Jursich, PhD

jursich@uic.edu
(312) 996-0901
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Molecular Dynamics, Spectroscopy, Thin Film Deposition, Nanomaterial

Gunnar Andersson, MD, PhD

gunnar_andersson@rush.edu
(312) 942-545
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Guy Weinberg, MD

guyw@uic.edu
(312) 996-4020
Department/Company : Medicine

Hamed Hatami-Marbini, PhD

Hatami@uic.edu
(312) 413-2126
Department/Company : Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Hammad Naveed, PhD

Department/Company : Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Research Interest : …

Hayat Onyuksel, PhD

Hayat@uic.edu
(312) 996-2097
Department/Company : Pharmaceutics
Research Interest : Controlled Drug Delivery

Hee-Jeong Sampen, PhD

hee-jeong_sampen@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush Biochemistry
Research Interest : …

Heejin Jeong, PhD

heejinj@uic.edu
Department/Company : Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Mixed Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Human Behavior Modeling

Herbert Engelhard, MD, PhD

hheneuro@gmail.com
(312) 882-8044
Department/Company : Affiliated Neurosurgery
Research Interest : Neurosurgery, Cancer and Bioengineering

Irena Levitan, PhD

levitan@uic.edu
(312) 996-8039
Department/Company : Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep Medicine
Research Interest : Cardiovascular Research

Jalees Rehman, MD

jalees@uic.edu
(312) 996-5552
Department/Company : Medicine and Pharmacology
Research Interest : Vascular Biology, Lung Biology & Pathophysiology

Janet Szlyk, PhD

janeszly@uic.edu
(312) 996-1466
Department/Company : Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Research Interest : Vision Loss in Retinal Diseases

Jan Hendrik Spille

jhspille@uic.edu
(312)996-4588
Department/Company : Physics

Jason Ng MD, PhD

jsnng@uic.edu/jsnng@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : Medicine

Jennifer Golman, MD

jennifer.g.goldman@gmail.com/jgg@uic.edu
Department/Company : Neurology

Jesus Garcia-Martinez, MD, PhD

garmar@uic.edu
(312) 355-0260
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics
Research Interest : Exciataion-contraction Coupling in Skeletal & Cardiac Muscle

(continued)

J. Jason McAnany, PhD

jmcana1@uic.edu
(312) 355-3632
Department/Company : Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Research Interest : Visual Dysfunction, Electrophysiology, Psychophysics, Retinal Imaging

Jie Xu, PhD

jiexu@uic.edu
(312)355-1788
Department/Company : Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Microfluidics, Lab-on-a-chip and Biosensors Micro/Nano transport phenomena

Jie Xu, PhD

zjwang@uic.edu
(312) 355-1429
Department/Company : Pharmaceutical Sciences

Joel Schwartz, DMD, DMSc

jdfinan@uic.edu
(312) 413-1031
Department/Company : Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

John Finan, PhD

joshwar@uic.edu
(312) 355-4311
Department/Company : Oral Medicine
Research Interest : Pathology

Jonathan J. Art, PhD

jart@uic.edu
(312) 996-4956
Department/Company : Anatomy and Cell Biology

Joseph Towles, PhD

towles@northwestern.edu
(312) 238-1235
Department/Company : Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Research Interest : Hand biomechanics & control after neurologic injury, simulation of treatment interventions

Kejia Cai, PhD

kcai@uic.edu
(312)413-0091
Department/Company :  Radiology
Research Interest : Metabolic and Molecular MRI

Kharma C Foucher, PhD

kfouch1@uic.edu
(312)355-3948
Department/Company : Kinesiology and Nutrition

Kostandin Pajcini, PhD

kvp@uic.edu
(312)355-4439
Department/Company : Pharmacology &  Regenerative Medicine

Kotaro Sena, DDS, PhD

kotaro_sena@rush.edu
(312) 942-5548
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Linda Kenney, PhD

kenneyl@uic.edu
Department/Company : Microbiology and Immunology, College of Medicine

Konstantinos Chronis, PhD

chronis@uic.edu
(312) 355-8012
Department/Company : Medicine

Luke Hanley, PhD

Lhanley@uic.edu
(312) 996-0945
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Chemical Mods & Analysis of Biological Surfaces

Marco Santambrogio, PhD

msanta4@uic.edu
Department/Company : Computer Science

Mark Grabiner, PhD

grabiner@uic.edu
(312) 996-2757
Department/Company : Kinesiology
Research Interest : Aging, Musculoskeletal Biomechanics

Markus Wimmer, PhD

markus_a_wimmer@rush.edu
Department/Company : Rush Orthopedics
Research Interest : Damage and Wearing of Implants

Mary Jo Ladu, PhD

mladu@uic.edu
(312) 355-4795
Department/Company : Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Abnormalities in Processing of Amyloid Presursor Protein in Alzheimer’s

Matthew Tresch, PhD

m-tresch@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : NWU Physiology
Research Interest : Biomechanics & Rehabilitation

Michael Scott, PhD

mjscott@uic.edu
(312) 996-4354
Department/Company : Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Design Theory, CAD

Nadim Mahmud, PhD

nadim@uic.edu
(312) 996-2242
Department/Company : Medicine
Research Interest : …

Olu Ajilore, PhD

oajilore@uic.edu
(312) 413-4562
Department/Company : Psychiatry

Orly Lazarov, PhD

olazarov@uic.edu
(312)355-0548
Department/Company : Anatomy and Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Patrick Salmon, PharmD, PhD

patrick.salmon@unige.ch
Department/Company : Neurosciences, Geneva School of Medicine (CMU)
Research Interest : Genetic Engineering of Cells using Lentivectors

Pavel Petukhov, PhD

pap4@uic.edu
(312) 996-4262
Department/Company : Medicinal Chemistry & Pharmacognosy
Research Interest : …

Peter Pfanner

pfanner@uic.edu
312-355-3348
Department/Company: Innovation Center
Research Interest: User Centered Medical Device Design

Peter Tek, MS, DO

peter.tek@mwumail.midwestern.edu
Department/Company : MWU Urology
Research Interest : Medical Device Design

Prakash Kotecha, PhD

kotecha@uic.edu
(312) 413-1292
Department/Company : Vishwamitra Research Institute
Research Interest : Sustainability, Carbon capture and Sequestration, Process Systems Engineering, Artificial Intelligence

Prashant Banerjee, PhD

banerjee@uic.edu
(312) 996-5599
Department/Company : Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Qingbo Li, PhD

gkli@uic.edu
(312) 413-9301
Department/Company : Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Research Interest : Anaerobic Metabolism, Bacteriostatic Resistance

Qiping Zheng, PhD

qiping_zheng@rush.edu
Department/Company : Anatomy and Cell Biology

Ravinder K Gill, PhD

rgill@uic.edu
(312) 569-7849
Department/Company : Medicine

Richard Gemeinhart, PhD

rag@uic.edu
(312) 996-2253
Department/Company : Pharmaceutics/ Pharmacodynamics
Research Interest : Polymer Chemistry for Drug Delivery & Biomaterials

Richard Minshall, PhD

rminsh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1655
Department/Company : Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology, and Pharmacology
Research Interest : …

Richard Penn, M.D

rpenn@uic.edu
(312) 355-4972
Department/Company : Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : …

Rick Sumner, PhD

rick_sumner@rush.edu
(312) 942-5501
Department/Company : Rush Anatomy & Cell Biology
Research Interest : Bone Regeneration & Implant Fixation

Robert Eisenberg, PhD

bob_eisenberg@rush.edu
(312) 942-6498
Department/Company : Physiology & Biophysics

Robert Kenyon, PhD

kenyon@uic.edu
(312) 996-3002
Department/Company : Computer Science
Research Interest : Human Computer Interaction

Robin Pourzal, PhD

Robin_Pourzal@rush.edu
(312) 942-7270
Department/Company : Orthopedic Surgery

Robison Chan, PhD

rvpchan@uic.edu
(312)996-6590
Department/Company: Ophthalmology & Visual Science

Rolf Otto Reiter, PhD

srreite5@uic.edu
Department/Company: Radiology

Sabri Cetinkunt, PhD

scetin@uic.edu
(312) 996-9611
Department/Company :  Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Research Interest : Mechatronics, Auomatic Control, Robotics, Automation, CAD/CAM

Sadhana Sharma, PhD

sadhana@uic.edu
Department/Company : Ohio State University
Research Interest : …

Sang Ging Ong, PhD

(312)996-7665
sangging@uic.edu
Department/Company : Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Sasha Erin Murer, MD

sashademos@yahoo.com
Department/Company : Anesthesia

Satish Alapati, PhD, DDS

salapati@uic.edu
(312) 996-2033
Department/Company: Dentistry Endodontics

Scott Shippy, PhD

Sshippy@uic.edu
(312) 355-2426
Department/Company : Chemistry
Research Interest : Chemical Signaling in the Mammalian Brain

Scott T. Brady, PhD

stbrady@uic.edu
(312) 996-6791
Department/Company : Anatomy and Cell Biology
Research Interest : …

Shaolin Yang, PhD

shaolin@uic.edu
(312)-413-3818
Department/Company : Psychiatry, Radiology
Research Interest : MRI, MRS, Psychiatric Disorder, Type 2 Diabetes, Drug Abuse, HIV, and Body/Organ Diseases

Steven Dudek, MD

sdudek@uic.edu
(312)996-8039
Department/Company : Medicine

Susan Renner, PhD

susan.renner@va.gov
Department/Company : Hines VA Hospital
Research Interest : Biomechanics

Tijana Rajh, PhD

rajh@anl.gov
Department/Company : Molecular Sciences
Research Interest : Nanoscience, Energy Conversion, NanoBio Interface

Timothy Koh, PhD

Tjkoh@uic.edu
(312) 996-1617
Department/Company : Kinesiology
Research Interest : Mechanical Load, Muscle Injury, Adaptation

Tohru Yamada, PhD

tohru@uic.edu
(312) 413-1156
Department/Company : Surgery

Urmila Diwekar, PhD

urmila@uic.edu
(312) 413-1649
Department/Company : Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest : Stochastic Modeling, Optimization Uncertainty

Viswanathan Natarajan, PhD

visnatar@uic.edu
(312) 355-5896
Department/Company : Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Waddah A. Alrefai, MD, PhD

walrefai@uic.edu
(312) 569-7429/(312)-569-7248
Department/Company:  Gastroenterology and Hepatology

William J Ennis, DO

wjennis@uic.edu
(312) 355-4300
Department/Company:  Surgery

William Pietrzak, PhD

bill.pietrzak@biometmail.com
(219) 267-6639
Department/Company : Biomet, Inc
Research Interest : Orthopedic Biomaterials

William Zev Rymer, MD, PhD

zrymer@ric.org/w-rymer@northwestern.edu
Department/Company : Physiology

X. Joe Zhou, PhD

xjzhou@uic.edu
(312) 413-3979
Department/Company : MR Research Center
Research Interest : MRI Physics & Tumor Applications

Xiaowei Wang, PhD

xwang317@uic.edu
(312)413-2446
Department/Company : Pharmacology & Regenerative Medicine

Xiaofeng (Charles) Zhou, PhD, MS

xfzhou@uic.edu
Department/Company : Periodontics

Yannek Isaac Leiderman, MD

yannek@uic.edu
(312) 996-6660
Department/Company : Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Zohreh Vafapour, MD

yannek@uic.edu
(312) 996-6660
Department/Company : Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences